The New England Newspaper Conference is one of the most prestigious newspaper events of the year. The program features top experts and sessions that address relevant and timely topics in the newspaper industry.

This year the New England Newspaper Conference will be held virtually on October 21 and 22, 2021.

Individual tickets are $39 for NENPA members and $55 for non-members. A group rate for NENPA members of $195 is available for five or more people to attend.


Program Highlights

Thursday, October 21, 10:00 – 11:00 am EDT
Revenue Roundtable
The panel discussion with publishers, advertising directors, and editors will share helpful practices, ideas, and innovative approaches to building revenue, audience, and trust in news organizations.
Learn more

Thursday, October 21, 11:00 am – 12:30 pm EDT
Editors Roundtable: The future of news (without a newsroom)
Sponsored by New England Society of News Editors
Join us for a candid discussion on how editors are running their newsroom – when the newsroom is empty. What lessons and positive changes have they experienced, and how do you work with new reporters, remotely. The panel discussion will focus on the future of news, without a newsroom. What does this look like and what does it mean for the next generation of journalists?
Learn more

Publick Occurrences Awards
Immediately following the panel will be the presentation of the annual Publick Occurrences Awards, recognizing the finest work that New England newspapers produce each year in individual or team stories, series, spot news coverage, columns or photojournalism that ran in print and/or online.

Friday, October 22, 11:00 am – 12:30 pm EDT
Conference Keynote
Emily Ramshaw is the co-founder and CEO of The 19th* news organization, an independent, nonprofit newsroom that has gained national recognition within its first year. Ramshaw will talk about innovative ways (and successes) to develop audience, partnerships, and a mix of funding models to provide long-term sustainability. She will also discuss their free to consume and free to republish program that newspapers can take advantage of. Maria Archangelo, Chief Revenue Officer of Open Campus and former New England news leader, will lead the discussion.
Learn more

Awards Program
Immediately following the session will be the presentation of the annual Allan B. Rogers Editorial Award, New England First Amendment Award, AP Sevellon Brown NE Journalist of the Year, Bob Wallack Community Journalism Award, and the New England Newspaper of the Year Awards.

Previous articleTanisha Leonard
Next articleChris Zoeller