2021 New England Newspaper Conference Schedule

October 21
10:00 - 11:00 am EDT

Revenue Roundtable
This panel discussion with publishers, advertising directors and editors will share successful practices, ideas, and innovative approaches to building revenue, audience, and trust in news organizations.

Terrence Williams, President & COO, The Keene Sentinel (moderator)
Chris Baker, Publisher, The Taos News
Chris Zoeller, Chief Opportunity & Marketing Officer, The Post and Courier
Catherine McGloin, Poynter Media Fellow, Freelance Journalist, and former editor of The Scope
Tanisha Leonard, President, RTM360°

October 21
11:00 am - 12:30 pm EDT

Editors Roundtable: The future of news (without a newsroom)
Sponsored by New England Society of News Editors
Join us for a candid discussion on how editors are running their newsroom – when the newsroom is empty. What lessons and positive changes have they experienced, and how do you work with new reporters, remotely. The panel discussion will focus on the future of news, without a newsroom. What does this look like and what does it mean for the next generation of journalists?

Emily Sweeney, Staff reporter, The Boston Globe and President New England Society of News Editors
Charlie McKenna, Correspondent, The Boston Globe and Editor-in-chief, The Berkeley Beacon
David Nordman, Executive Editor, Telegram & Gazette
Michael Cote, Senior Editor, News and Business, New Hampshire Union Leader

Publick Occurrences Awards
Immediately following the panel will be the presentation of the annual Publick Occurrences Awards, recognizing the finest work that New England newspapers produce each year in individual or team stories, series, spot news coverage, columns or photojournalism that ran in print and/or online.

October 22
11:00 am - 12:30 pm EDT

Conference Keynote
Emily Ramshaw is the co-founder and CEO of The 19th* news organization, an independent, nonprofit newsroom that has gained national recognition within its first year. Ramshaw will talk about innovative ways (and successes) to develop audience, partnerships, and a mix of funding models to provide long-term sustainability. She will also discuss their free to consume and free to republish program that newspapers can take advantage of. Maria Archangelo, Chief Revenue Officer of Open Campus and former New England news leader, will lead the discussion.

Awards Program
Immediately following the session will be the presentation of the annual Allan B. Rogers Editorial Award, New England First Amendment Award, AP Sevellon Brown NE Journalist of the Year, Bob Wallack Community Journalism Award, and the New England Newspaper of the Year Awards.