Yankee Quill

Yankee Quill Dinner

For more than 50 years the New England Academy of Journalists has been honoring our region’s most extraordinary journalists for their contributions to a free press and their efforts to improve the communities they serve. Other journalism associations bestow awards for individual and team accomplishments, but the Yankee Quill recognizes the lifetime achievement of those who have had a broad influence for good, both inside and outside the newsroom. The Academy, which is comprised of all Quill winners and representatives of various New England journalism organizations, gathers annually under the auspices of the New England Society of News Editors Foundation to select the honorees. Winners are selected from among nominees that represent newspapers, broadcasting and academia. Click here to see the full list of Yankee Quill Award winners.

Yankee Quill nominations are due in the Spring. The award ceremony will take place at the Yankee Quill Dinner in October. Download Nomination form

2014 Yankee Quill Recipients

Joe Bergantino
Director of the New England Center for Investigative Reporting

Karen Bordeleau
Executive Editor of the Providence Journal

John Christie
Editor of the Maine Center for Public Interest Reporting

Richard Lodge
Editor of The MetroWest Daily News, Framingham MA

Alan White
Editor of The Eagle-Tribune, North Andover MA

Press Release

Five journalists honored with 2014 Yankee Quill Awards

Five New England journalists will receive the Yankee Quill Award this fall for their contributions to the betterment of journalism in the six-state region.

The Yankee Quill Award is presented annually by the Academy of New England Journalists through the auspices of the New England Society of New Editors Foundation. It is considered the highest individual honor awarded by fellow journalists in the region. Selection for the award is not based on any single achievement but rather on the broad influence for good over the course of a career.

The 2014 honorees are Joe Bergantino, director, New England Center for Investigative Reporting; Karen Bordeleau, executive editor, The Providence Journal; John Christie, editor, Maine Center for Public Interest Reporting; Richard Lodge, editor, MetroWest Daily News, Framingham, Mass. and Alan White, editor, The Eagle-Tribune, North Andover, Mass.

Joe Bergantino was cited for his contributions to investigative journalism as a reporter and editor for 23 years at WBZ-TV, and the co-founding of the New England Center for Investigative Reporting at Boston University five years ago. The selection committee was impressed with his “passion for holding people of power, money and influence accountable to the public, and for your commitment to training the next generation of watchdog journalists through NECIR programs.”

Karen Bordeleau began her career at The Providence Journal as a copy editor and reporter in 1996 and, last year, became the first woman at the paper to work as senior vice president and executive editor. Previously she was editor of The Kent County Daily Times and the The Call in Rhode Island. She is a past president of the New England Associated Press News Executives Association and the New England Society of News Editors. Bordeleau was cited by the Quill committee for her strong commitment to the guide dog and watchdog principles of journalism, leadership role in training and mentoring journalists in Rhode Island and from other countries, and fierce dedication to press freedom.

John Christie was a reporter and editor at several papers in Massachusetts and Maine; editor-in-chief of the Beverly Times in Massachusetts, and vice president for strategic planning general manager, deputy managing editor, writing coach and metro editor at the South Florida Sun-Sentinel, before becoming publisher of Maine’s Kennebec Journal and Morning Sentinel in 2000. In 2009, he founded the Maine Center for Public Interest Reporting, which has produced more than 150 investigative stories about Maine state and local government. Christie was cited for his “commitment to the core principles and obligations of a free press” and his role in the founding and nurturing of the Maine center.

Richard Lodge, who also serves as editor-in-chief of GateHouse Media’s west unit, has edited papers in Lowell, New Bedford, Southbridge and Newton, Mass., in addition to Portland, Maine. He is vice president of the New England Society of News Editors. Lodge was selected for his commitment to the growth and development of meaningful community journalism, record of honing the skills of young journalists, and leadership role in both professional and community issues. The committee was also impressed with his dedication to fighting for open meetings, open records and the public’s right to know.

Alan White has a lengthy career at the Eagle-Tribune and has worked as reporter, city editor, assistant managing editor, managing editor and editor. His contributions at the paper include two Pulitzer Prizes and active leadership in the greater Lawrence community. The selection committee cited White’s role in watchdog community journalism, training of young journalists who went on to achieve significant career success, and unswerving commitment to transparency in government. The selection committee was also impressed with his contribution to The Eagle-Tribune’s outreach efforts over the years to encourage the Latino and Anglo populations of Lawrence and environs to better understand each other and their common civic purpose as citizens and immigrants. The Yankee Quill awards will be presented as part of the annual conferences of the New England Society of News Editors and the New England Newspaper & Press Association on the evening of Thursday, Oct. 9 at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Natick, Mass.

Nomination instructions for Yankee Quill

The New England Society of Newspaper Editors Foundation recognizes the efforts and dedication of those in New England who have had a broad influence for good in the field of journalism with the Yankee Quill award.

Recipients are inducted into the Academy of New England Journalists upon receiving the Yankee Quill award.

Yankee Quill rules state that selection for the award is not based on a single distinguished achievement in news reporting or editorial writing, or on the development of a publication of purely local impact. Rather, election recognizes the effort and dedication of those in New England who have had a broad influence for good in the field of journalism.

In other words, it is not based on a single distinguished achievement in reporting, writing or editing or on the fact that someone runs a good newspaper or broadcast show or station. Instead, it honors a lifetime of contribution to the profession. Nominations may range across the entire field of journalism, including daily and weekly newspapers, radio and television news coverage and other forms of communications that meet the tests of journalism.

The Board of Trustees of the Academy of New England Journalists, along with the presidents of several New England media associations, will make the final selection of the persons to receive the Yankee Quill Award.

Yankee Quill
370 Common Street - 3rd Floor, Suite 319
Dedham, MA 02026

For further information contact: Bill Ketter, academy chairman, The Eagle-Tribune, wketter@cnhi.com / (978) 685-1000. George Geers, academy clerk, gnews@empire.net / (603) 785-4811

For more information, please contact:
Megan Sherman

Promoting Growth and Excellence in New England Newspapers since 1950