At the New England Newspaper Conference on October 21 and 22, we will present the 2021 Publick Occurences, Top Individual, and New England Newspaper of the Year Awards. Listed below is the schedule of when the awards will be given out during the two-day conference.

On October 21, immediately following the Editorial Roundtable, which begins at 11:00 am EDT, will be the presentation of the annual Publick Occurrences Awards, recognizing the finest work that New England newspapers produce each year in individual or team stories, series, spot-news coverage, columns or photojournalism that ran in print and/or online.

On October 22, immediately following the Keynote session, which begins at 11:00 am EDT will be the presentation of the top individual awards listed below and the New England Newspaper of the Year Awards.

We invite you to join us in listening to well-known experts in the media industry and honoring these exceptional publications and journalists.

New  England First Amendment Award:
New Hampshire Union Leader

AP Sevellon Brown New England Journalist of the Year:
Michael Cousineau, New Hampshire Union Leader

Allan B. Rogers Editorial Award:

Bob Wallack Community Journalism Award:
James D. Haggerty III, Daily Times Chronicle

New England Newspaper of the Year Finalists

Weekday up to 10,000
Patriot Ledger
Gloucester Daily Times
Keene Sentinel

Weekday circ 10,000-20,000
The Day
Berkshire Eagle

Weekday circ 20,000+
The Republican
Providence Journal

Sunday up to 25,000
Berkshire Eagle
The Day

Sunday 25,000+
Providence Journal
Telegram & Gazette
The Republican

Weekly under 5,000
Vermont Standard
Milton Times
Mount Desert Islander
Provincetown Independent

Weekly 5,000+
Ellsworth American
Martha’s Vineyard Times
Inquirer and Mirror
Seven Days

Specialty Publications
Providence Business News
New Boston Beacon