Once again this year the New England Newspaper & Press Association will identify our region’s very best daily, weekly and specialty newspapers, and recognize them with the prestigious “New England Newspaper of the Year” award.

This is a one-of-a-kind competition and is the only distinction in our industry that is judged by the audience members.

New England newspaper readers in each of the six New England states will be appointed to evaluate the entries from a news consumer point of view and decide which deserve the honor of being named “Newspaper of the Year“.

The deadline to submit entries is Friday, July 30, 2021.

Entries are also being accepted for five other prestigious awards

Publick Occurrences Award
This award recognizes individual or team stories, series, spot news coverage, columns or photojournalism that ran in print and/or online. Editors should view this entry as their “very best work of the year.”
Learn more

Bob Wallack Community Journalism Award
This award celebrates the accomplishments of someone who, over a sustained period of time, has faithfully served the community for which they are responsible and has played an active, constructive role in contributing to its quality of life.
Learn more

Allan B. Rogers Editorial Award
This award recognizes the best editorial on a local subject that ran in New England in the past year.
Learn more

New England First Amendment Award
This award will recognize a New England newspaper for its exceptional work in upholding the First Amendment and/or educating the public about it.
Learn more

AP Sevellon Brown New England Journalist of the Year
This award is bestowed by the New England Society of News Editors, and it recognizes an individual for producing journalism of distinction in New England this past year.
Learn more