NENPA members, please enter your work that illuminates or upholds our five freedoms for the New England First Amendment Award. The New England First Amendment Award honors the association’s record of leadership on First Amendment issues.

The award is presented to a New England newspaper for the exceptional quality of its reporting, editorials, commentary, or legal challenges that illuminate or uphold the First Amendment or educate the public about it.

Entrants are judged for the quality of reporting, editorials, commentary, and/or legal challenges that illuminate or uphold the First Amendment.

Entry Information:

  • $119 fee for each entry
  • Please submit digital entries
  • NENPA member newspapers, regardless of circulation size and frequency of publication, are invited to enter.
  • The deadline to submit entries is Friday, July 21, 2023.

Entries are also being accepted for New England Newspaper of the Year and three other prestigious awards:

New England Newspaper of the Year Awards

Each year NENPA identifies our region’s best daily, weekly, and specialty newspapers, and recognizes them with the prestigious “New England Newspaper of the Year” award. Winners are named in a range of circulation categories. This one-of-a-kind competition is the only distinction of its kind in the newspaper industry that audience members judge.

Learn more …

Publick Occurrences Award

This award recognizes individual or team stories, series, spot news coverage, columns, or photojournalism that ran in print and/or online. Editors should view this entry as their “best work of the year.”

Learn more …

AP Sevellon Brown New England Journalist of the Year

This award is bestowed by the New England Society of News Editors, recognizing an individual for producing journalism of distinction in New England this past year.

Learn more …

Allan B. Rogers Editorial Award

This award recognizes the best editorial on a local subject that ran in New England in the past year.