Each year the New England Newspaper & Press Association recognized the New England Journalism Educator of the Year. The award recognizes a professor at a university or college in our six-state region who is doing outstanding work in preparing aspiring journalists that will lead our newspaper organizations into the future. Each college in New England is entitled to submit one nomination for the award.

Last year’s winner was Kristen D. Nevious, Ph.D., Director, Franklin Pierce University in Rindge, NH.

If you work at a New England university or college and you know an outstanding journalism professor, please nominate them for this prestigious award.

Simply write a letter in support of an educator that is doing extraordinary work with journalism students. Please explain why you think your nominee merits special recognition, and feel free to provide examples or supporting material if appropriate. Also, please provide contact information for your nominee, so that we can follow-up with questions and a notification if he/she is selected.

The nominations will be judged by the board of directors of our Journalism Education Foundation of New England and the award will be presented at The New England Society of News Editors 2019 annual spring event, which will take place on May 2nd at The Boston Globe.

The NESNE Spring Awards Celebration also recognizes the very best editorial work produced in New England including Master Reporter, Master Photographer, Judith Vance Weld Brown Spirit of Journalism Award, College Newspaper of the Year, Newsroom Rising Star and College Journalist of the Year.

Please email your nomination letter for New England Journalism Educator of the Year by April 12, 2019 to: l.conway@nenpa.com.