Bulletin photo by Chris Christo

Those presented the 2016 Yankee Quill Awards at the New England Newspaper Conference Thursday, Oct. 6, are, from left, Brian McGrory, editor of The Boston Globe; Lincoln McKie Jr., former publisher of the Revere, Mass.-based Journal Transcript Newspapers, former executive editor of The Sun of Lowell, Mass., and former managing editor of the Telegram & Gazette of Worcester, Mass.; Maura Casey, editorial writer at The Hartford (Conn.) Courant and The New York Times; and Edward Achorn, vice president/editorial pages, The Providence (R.I.) Journal. The Academy of New England Journalists also posthumously recognized Sarah Josepha Hale, a 19th century poet, writer and magazine editor from Newport, N.H., as a historic figure in journalism. The Yankee Quill Award is the highest recognition for distinguished journalism in New England. The award recipients were honored at a dinner in the Crowne Plaza hotel in Natick, Mass. Please return to the Bulletin in the days ahead for more coverage of the conference.