Distinguished Judges Panel

Thank you to all the judges who help make the New England Better Newspaper Contest a success!

Wayne Agner
Editor & publisher, Trinity CA Journal

Jack Authelet
Former editor, Foxboro Reporter

Cynthia L. Baron
Academic Director, Digital Media programs
College of Professional Studies, Northeastern University

John Briggs
Reporter, The Burlington Free Press

Sherry Chisenhall
Editor, Wichita Eagle

Doug Clifton
Former editor, The Cleveland Plain Dealer and Miami Herald

Kim Dalglish
Former VP Marketing and Specialty Publications,
The Columbia SC State, Bradenton FL Herald, Fort Worth Star-Telegram

Darrell Davis
VP Creative Services, Metro Creative Graphics

Bill Densmore
Reynolds Journalism Institute Fellow and Director of the Media Giraffe Project

Shawn DeWeese
Consultant at Mather Economics
Former Sales and Retention Director at Cox Ohio Publishing

Mike Donoghue
The Burlington VT Free Press, St. Michael’s College

Robert Earley
Former General Manager, Elkhart IN Truth

Paula Ellis
VP Strategic Initiatives, John S. and James L. Knight Foundation
Former VP Operations, Knight Ridder
Former President & Publisher, The Myrtle Beach SC Sun News

Rob Forrest
Art Director, Metro Creative Graphics

Chuck Fountain
Professor, Northeastern University

Wendell Funk
Former VP Advertising, Wichita Eagle

George Geers
Publisher, Plaideswede Publishing Co.
Director, New Hampshire Writer’s Project
New Hampshire journalist

Pat Gore
Editor, Vermont Catholic Magazine

Dr. Nancy L. Green
Former VP Circulation, Lee Enterprises
Former publisher, Courier Communications

Larry Grimes
President, W.B. Grimes & Co. and The Sports Advisory Group

Patrick Hafford
Web General Manager, CSMonitor.com

Jim Hart
President, Integrated Advertising Systems
Former GM Dallas Morning News Design Mail
Vice President, ASTECH InterMedia

Meg Heckman
Northeastern University

Ed Henninger
Design Consultant, Henninger Consulting

Ron Hogue
Veteran Creative Services Manager
St. Louis Post-Dispatch

Lou Heldman
Distinguished Senior Fellow in Media Management and Journalism, Wichita State University
Former President & Publisher, Wichita Eagle
Former Knight Ridder 25/43 Project Director

Robert Holt III
Former AME Director of Photography and Director of Operations and Technology, St. Louis Post-Dispatch
Director of Publishing Industry Marketing, Scitex

Art Howe
Chairman, Verve Wireless
Former President, Village Voice Media
Former CEO, Montgomery Newspapers

Tim Kane
Executive Editor, Turley Publications

Mike Kilian
Associate Editor, Burlington Free Press

Bill Kirtz
Journalism Professor, Northeastern University

Laura Koch
Graphic Designer, Metro Creative Graphics

Bill Kole
New England Bureau Chief, Associated Press

Steve Kurkjian
Former Boston Globe reporter and editor, founding member of the Globe’s Spotlight Investigative team

Jean Lang
Adjunct Professor, Northeastern University; former Associated Press, The Eagle-Tribune

Robert Laska
Former President & Publisher, Connecticut Post

Larry Laughlin
Former Northern New England AP Bureau Chief; Editor of NEFAC Report

Len Levin
Former Copy Desk Chief, Providence Journal

Linda Lotridge Levin
Dept. of Journalism, University of Rhode Island

Lincoln McKie, Jr.
Journalism professor, Northeastern University
Former publisher, Journal Transcript Newspapers
Former executive editor, Lowell Sun

Steve Milone
Director of Circulation, North of Boston Media Group
VP, Director of Circulation, The Eagle-Tribune

Charles J. Mouratides
Former Executive Editor, Lerner Newspapers, Chicago, IL

David Nicklaus
Business Columnist, St. Louis Post-Dispatch

Mike Patrick
Editor, Coeur d’Alene ID Press

Gene Policinski
SVP, Executive Director, First Amendment Center, Washington DC

Sally Pollak
Reporter, Burlington Free Press

Dr. Brett Rhyne
New England journalist and educator, RhyNewService founder

Jim Ross
Associate Professor of Journalism, Northeastern University

Bob Ryan
Former VP Knight-Ridder Digital and San Jose Mercury News

Matt Ryan
Reporter, Burlington Free Press

Robert Schrepf
Former Editorial Page Editor, Hartford Courant

Del Schwinke
Co-coordinator of Communications and Journalism Program at Washington University; former Advertising Manager, St. Louis Post-Dispatch

Aki Soga
Editorial Page Editor, Burlington Free Press

John Stein
Director of Custom Media Solutions
Sun-Times Media, Chicago, IL

Chip Visci
California Polytechnic State University; former Publisher, San Jose Mercury News, former VP, Knight-Ridder Newspapers

John Voket
Associate. Editor, The Newtown Bee
Dir. of Public Affairs, Cox Media Group, CT

Susan Walker
Vice President/General Manager, Herald Newspapers Inc., Chicago, IL

Molly Walsh
Staff Writer, Burlington Free Press

Promoting Growth and Excellence in New England Newspapers since 1930